Union Minister for Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation Sushri Uma Bharti and Union Urban Development Minister Shri M Venkaiah Naidu launched Smart Ganga City Scheme today in ten important cities through video conference.

The ten cities which have been selected for the scheme are- Haridwar, Rishikesh, Mathura-Vrindavan, Varanasi, Kanpur, Allahabad, Lucknow, Patna, Sahibgunj and Barrackpore.

National Mission for Clean Ganga (NMCG) has chosen these cities in the first phase for infrastructure development for sewage treatment. This will be on hybrid annuity mode based on PPP model.

Though in the first phase only ten cities have been taken up but gradually more and more cities will be taken up.

The District Magistrates/Mayors of the ten chosen cities participating in the video conference appreciated the Namami Gange programme and promised the full support of state administration and local bodies for its success.

Earlier, Shri Rajat Bhargav, Mission Director NMCG made a presentation on hybrid annuity mode based on PPP model to be adopted by NMCG for speedy implementation of Namami Gange programme.  

Post a Comment