New Delhi: Five times Mount Everest climber Love Raj Singh Dharmshaktu, Assistant Commandant, of Border Security Force received “PADMA SHRI” award from the President of India, Pranab Mukherjee in a ceremony at the Rastrapati Bhavan at Ashoka Bhawan, New Delhi.

D K Pathak, IPS, Director General Border Security Force and all members of Border Security Force have profusely appreciated for the award of “PADMA SHRI” to Shri Love Raj Singh Dharmshaktu in Sport Mountaineering.

Love Raj Singh Dharmshaktu is hails from Bona village, Kumaon Himalaya. He worked at Uttar Pradesh Tourism Office on Spl Duty and took his adventure course. Later, he has completed Basic Mountaineering and Advanced Mountaineering Course from Nehru Institute of Mountaineering (NIM) in 1990. He earned a specialization in Search and Rescue.

Love Raj Singh Dharmshaktu has successfully climbed on 38 peaks like Nanda Kot (6861 meters) in 1989, Mamostong Kangri (7516 meters) in Ladakh and Nanda Bhaner (6236 meters) both in 1992. He was liaison officer for a British team during expedition of Nanda Ghunti (6309 meters) in 1997.

In 1998, he made a successful bid at climbing Mount Everest for the first time, from the Tibetan approach on the north. Thereafter he repeated this feat in 2006, 2009, 2012 and most recently in 2013.

Some of his other noteworthy conquests include the Kanchenjunga (8586 meters), Nanda Ghunti (6309 meters). Nanda Bhaner (6236 meters) and Mamostong Kangri (7516 meters) He has climbed over 38 peaks in 22 years. In the future he intends scaling the five peaks known as Panchchulli in Uttarakhand. In 2008, he reached the peak of Kanchenjunga (8586 meters) alongwith a BSF team in June’ 2012. Love Raj Singh Dharmshaktu is spirited eco-warrior, taking part in awareness drives specially with regard to littering on trekking routes on Mount Everest in Delhi. As a hill native, he knows the uses of medicinal herbs and plants, sometimes opting for these remedies over conventional medicines.

Love Raj Singh Dharmshaktu participated 38 times in various Nationals levels events and win various awards including Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award in 2003 by Prime Minister of India for outstanding achievement in mountaineering including citation and cash reward of Rs. 1,50,000. Award by Edmund Hillary in 2003 on golden Jubilee Celebrations of Everest organized by IMF.

BSF officials who were decorated with “PADMA SHRI” Awards are Brig Bhuwan Chand Pandey, IG in 1972, Shri P R Rajgopal, IG in 1972, Shri Chaman Lal, IPS, DIG in 1988, Shri Prakash Singh, IPS, ADG in 1991, Shri A K Patel, IPS, IG in 1991 and Dr L C Dutta, IG (Director Medical) in 2010.

Post a Comment