In a major success for the Indian Ace shuttler Saina Nehwal, she has been appointed as the member of the IOC Athletes' Commission. She has received a letter in this regards by International Olympic Committee President Thomas Bach.

Facts in Brief:

  • It is noted that American Ice Hockey Olympic champion Angela Ruggiero is the chairman of the Athletes' Commission.
  • There are total nine vice presidents and 10 other members in the Commission.
  •  The next meeting of the Commission is scheduled for November 6.
  • Saina was the first female shuttler to won the Olympic bronze medal for India in 2012 London Olympics.
  • Reliance Foundation chairperson Nita Ambani was elected as an individual member of the IOC.

Post a Comment