p phi Competitive Times - Gujarat Premier League 2018: Stage set for a mega 20-20 carnival for talent hunt

Gujarat Premier League 2018: Stage set for a mega 20-20 carnival  for  talent hunt
The inaugural edition of an unprecedented state and franchise-based T20 tournament, Gujarat Premier League(GPL) 2018 was announced by the cricket legends of world cricket- Mohammad Kaif and Ramesh Powar. The ex-cricketers shared that they will be featuring in the inaugural edition, which will be played in Surat, Ahmadabad & Rajkot from 28th May to 10th June 2018.

GPL is aimed at promoting Gujarat's cricket talent and giving an opportunity to the local players by bringing in national and international cricketers. It is an initiative by  Dharmang S Dalal, Director, Luxuryminds Entertainment who accompanied the cricketer at the announcement Press Conference held on 3rd April 2018 at The Gateway Hotel Athwalines Surat.

In Details: 243rd Raising Day of Army Ordnance Corps Celebrated

The 20-20 carnival will have star-studded cricketers like Mohammad Kaif, Owais Shah, Herschelle Gibbs, Makhaya Ntini, Muthiah Muralidaran, Brian Lara, Andrew Symonds, Alistair Campbell, Ricardo Powell, Tino Best, Mathew Hoggard, Charles Coventry, Farveez Maharoof, Chamara Silva, Ajantha Mendis, Paul Adams, Justin Kemp, Ramesh Powar and many more.

A total of six former Indian players, 18 international and domestic stars will be in action over a period of 12 days. GPL will have six teams fighting it out for the ultimate glory. Each team will consist of one former Indian cricketer, three former International players, and domestic stars. A total of 18 matches will be played during the course of the tournament and it will commence with a grand opening ceremony, wherein prominent Bollywood stars will be seen performing.

8th Theatre Olympics Concludes in Mumbai- Facts in Brief

All the matches will be played in Surat, Ahmedabad, and Rajkot. While Surat will host 7 matches including the grand finale, Rajkot and Ahmedabad will share six and five matches respectively. The team which will win the mega tournament will get a cash prize of Rs 51 Lakh, while the runners-up will earn a cash prize of Rs 21 Lakh. Also, each participating team will get Rs 2 Lakh in addition to the entire prize amount.

In the words of Mohammad Kaif, "Congratulations to Dharmang for coming up with this great initiative of a state-based T20 tournament. I'm extremely excited and delighted to be a part of Gujarat Premier League and looking forward to playing this tournament. I expect this league adds more dimensions to cricket and brings out the best in the cricketers who will be participating in GPL. "

Post a Comment