In a bid to examine the existing legal and institutional frameworks for dealing with matters of sexual harassment of women at the workplace, government today constituted a Group of Ministers (GoM).

The GoM will recommend action required for effective implementation of the existing provisions, as well as for strengthening the existing legal and institutional frameworks for addressng the issues.

The Group of Ministers will be chaired by the Union Home Minister Shri Rajnath Singh. Other members are Nitin Gadkari, Minister, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, Ministry of Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, and Ministry of Shipping.

Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister, Ministry of Defence and  Smt. Maneka Sanjay Gandhi, Minister, Ministry of Women & Child Development.

The Group of Ministers will, within 3 months of its constitution, examine the existing provisions for the safety of women, including those mentioned above, and recommend further measures required to strengthen and make them more effective.

Post a Comment